Governor-General's Prize - 7 February 2014

CEFA is delighted to announce that the Hon. Justice Susan Kiefel AC, of the High Court of Australia, has agreed to chair the judging panel for this year’s essay competition. In its tenth year, the 2013-14 undergraduate essay competition for the Governor-General’s Prize is supported by Reconciliation Australia, and offers students the opportunity to research and discuss various topics related to constitutional recognition of Indigenous Australians.

In 2004, the Governor-General’s Prize was launched by Chief Justice Gleeson at Parliament House, Sydney, and each year it has been judged by a panel chaired by a Justice of the High Court:

2004: The Hon Justice Dyson Heydon AC
2005:The Hon Justice Ian Callinan AC
2006:The Hon Justice Susan Crennan AC
2007: The Hon Justice Michael Kirby AC CMG
2008: The Hon Justice Dyson Heydon AC
2009: The Hon Chief Justice French AC
2010: The Hon Justice Virginia Bell AC
2011:The Hon Justice William Gummow AC
2012:The Hon Justice Kenneth Hayne AC

A major event will be held later this year to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the Governor-General’s Prize.

“The Governor-General’s Prize is one of the most prestigious essay competitions in Australia for undergraduates,” said CEFA’s Executive Director, Mrs Kerry Jones, “and we are very excited about our plans for celebrating the tenth anniversary, details of which will be released shortly.”

For further details, please see the Governor-General’s Prize website ( or contact Phuong Van in the CEFA office.