Major General the Honourable Michael Jeffery AC, AO(Mil), CVO, MC(Retd)

Major General the Honourable Michael Jeffery AC, AO(Mil), CVO, MC(Retd) is a former Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, and a former Governor of Western Australia. He served operationally in the army in Malaya, Borneo, Papua New Guinea and Vietnam and commanded the Army’s 15,000  man 1st Division. He also served in various senior staff appointments in operations, logistics and equipment procurement.

The Hon Peter Lindsay

Peter Lindsay began a television career at Channel Seven Townsville in engineering, production, news, editorial and executive roles. He later owned and managed an electronics contracting business with a staff of 33. He was elected to the Townsville City Council for 5 terms followed by serving 5 terms in the Australian Parliament. He held a Defence ministerial portfolio with responsibility for the Defence Estate, Defence Science and Technology, the Reserves, the Defence Housing Authority and Defence cadets. He has chaired ASX listed Guildford Coal Limited and currently chairs IT services company, OriginNet  and the James Cook University Clinical Purposes Building Trust following a term as Deputy Chancellor of the University.

Mr Andrew Phelan FIML

Andrew Phelan is a former Chief Executive & Principal Registrar of the High Court of Australia. He was appointed by the Governor-General of Australia on the recommendation of the Justices of the Court in July 2007. Prior to this he was Executive Director of the Australian Crime Commission.

Dr Don Markwell

Don Markwell is the Head of St Paul’s College at the University of Sydney. Rhodes Scholar for Queensland for 1981, he has served as Warden of Rhodes House, Oxford, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) of the University of Western Australia, Warden of Trinity College at the University of Melbourne, and Fellow and Tutor in Politics at Merton College, Oxford. He has served as Senior Adviser on Higher Education to the Federal Minister for Education, and Senior Adviser to the Attorney-General and Leader of the Government in the Senate. His books include Constitutional Conventions and the Headship of State: Australian Experience (2016)

Professor Anne Twomey

Anne Twomey is a Professor of Constitutional Law at Sydney University. She has practised as a solicitor and is admitted to practice in New South Wales, Victoria, the ACT, and the High Court. She has worked for the High Court of Australia as a Senior Research Officer, the Commonwealth Parliamentary Research Service as a researcher in the Law and Government Group, the Commonwealth Senate as Secretary to the Senate Legal and Constitutional Committee, and The Cabinet Office of NSW as Policy Manager of the Legal Branch. Her most recent book is The Veiled Sceptre – Reserve Powers of Heads of State in Westminster Systems (Cambridge University Press).

Rodney Cavalier AO

Rodney Cavalier is a former Chairman of the Sydney Cricket Ground Trust and a former NSW Minister for Education. He is President of the Sydney Cricket Club, a Life Member of the SCG and an Honorary Life Member of the Marylebone Cricket Club. Rodney was previously deputy chairman of the National Council for the Centenary of Federation, chairman of the Sesquicentenary of Responsible Government in NSW and a member of the Council of the National Library and State Library of New South Wales. He has published books on the NSW Labor crisis of 2005-2009 and the sculptures at the Sydney Cricket Ground. He has written articles on NSW governors and premiers, the workings of cabinet, political cartoons, the uses of diaries and the first serious research into the family and social background of Donald Bradman and siblings.

Foundation Councillors

Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Blainey AC

Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Blainey AC is an Author and Historian, Emeritus Professor at the University of Melbourne, and a governor of the Ian Potter Foundation. Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Bolton AO is Chancellor and Emeritus Professor at Murdoch University and ABC Boyer Lecturer 1992.

Professor Greg Craven

Professor Greg Craven is the Executive Director of the John Curtin Institute of Public Policy and Chair in Government and Constitutional Law at Curtin University. He was also a member of the ‘Yes’ Committee in the 1999 Republic Referendum.

Dr John Hirst

Dr John Hirst is an Author and Historian at La Trobe University.  He was formerly a member of the Prime Minister's Republic Advisory Committee, Chair of the Commonwealth Civics Education Group, and is currently a Council Member for the National Museum of Australia.

Major General W B Digger James AC AO (Mil) MBE MC

Major General W B Digger James AC AO (Mil) MBE MC is a company director and former Director-General of Army Health Services, and former National President of the RSL 1993-1997.

Associate Professor Gregory Melleuish

Associate Professor Gregory Melleuish is an Associate Professor in History at the University of Wollongong. Since 2000 he has been the President of the Asia Pacific Affiliate Branch of the World History Association. Greg has also published a number of articles on world history and political theory including a chapter on the utility of the idea of ‘clash of civilisations’ for understanding history and a recent article on the idea of ‘commonwealth’.

Sir David Smith KCVO AO

Sir David Smith KCVO AO is a visiting scholar at the Faculty of Law at Australian National University. He is Director of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust.

Mr Hugh Morgan AC

Mr. Hugh Morgan AC is a Director of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia, President of the Business Council of Australia, Co-Chair of the Commonwealth Business Council; President of the Australia Japan Business Co-operation Committee.

The Honourable Sir Laurence Street AC KCMG KStJ QC

The Honourable Sir Laurence Street AC KCMG KStJ QC is a Commercial Mediator and Disputes Consultant. He is a former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of NSW and Lieutenant Governor of NSW. He is a former Chairman of John Fairfax Holdings Ltd.

The Honourable Lloyd Waddy RFD

The Honourable Lloyd Waddy RFD is a former Judge of the Family Court of Australia, and Chairman of the Australian Elizabethan Theatre Trust. He is a Foundation Director of the Australia-Britain Society

George Williams AO

George Williams AO is one of Australia’s leading constitutional lawyers and public commentators. He is the Anthony Mason Professor, a Scientia Professorand the Foundation Director of the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law at the Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales. As an Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow, he is engaged in a five year international project on anti-terror laws and democracy. He has held visiting positions at Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto, Columbia University Law School in New York and University College London. George was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2011: ‘For distinguished service to the law in the fields of anti-terrorism, human rights and constitutional law as an academic, author, adviser and public commentator.’