Part I - General

1 Legislative power 

The legislative power of the Commonwealth shall be vested in a Federal Parliament, which shall consist of the Queen, a Senate, and a House of Representatives, and which is hereinafter called The Parliament, or The Parliament of the Commonwealth. 

2 Governor‑General 

A Governor‑General appointed by the Queen shall be Her Majesty’s representative in the Commonwealth, and shall have and may exercise in the Commonwealth during the Queen’s pleasure, but subject to this Constitution, such powers and functions of the Queen as Her Majesty may be pleased to assign to him. 

3 Salary of Governor‑General 

There shall be payable to the Queen out of the Consolidated Revenue fund of the Commonwealth, for the salary of the Governor‑General, an annual sum which, until the Parliament otherwise provides, shall be ten thousand pounds. 

The salary of a Governor‑General shall not be altered during his continuance in office.

4 Provisions relating to Governor‑General

The provisions of this Constitution relating to the Governor‑General extend and apply to the Governor‑General for the time being, or such person as the Queen may appoint to administer the Government of the Commonwealth; but no such person shall be entitled to receive any salary from the Commonwealth in respect of any other office during his administration of the Government of the Commonwealth.

5 Sessions of Parliament. Prorogation and dissolution 

The Governor‑General may appoint such times for holding the sessions of the Parliament as he thinks fit, and may also from time to time, by Proclamation or otherwise, prorogue the Parliament, and may in like manner dissolve the House of Representatives. 

Summoning Parliament 

After any general election the Parliament shall be summoned to meet not later than thirty days after the day appointed for the return of the writs. 

First session 

The Parliament shall be summoned to meet not later than six months after the establishment of the Commonwealth.

6 Yearly session of Parliament 

There shall be a session of the Parliament once at least in every year, so that twelve months shall not intervene between the last sitting of the Parliament in one session and its first sitting in the next session.